Home is not a place, It’s a state of mind

It was a lazy Sunday afternoon. Just like any weekend, I hadn’t done anything worthwhile. I was pretending to sleep when the door bell rang. He was right on time, Dad asked if we could go with him. I thought ‘what the hell, Lets Go!!’

Dad has been keen on buying a house for long time now and he was actively looking around. I was keen too but the word ‘active’ wouldn’t be the appropriate association with me. Dad was in talks with few real estate agents and had viewing of many places. I too accompanied him to see few houses but I never felt any house to be ‘THE ONE’. The first step was to decide on the location. Staying in banaswadi since some 6 months now, My parents have taken a liking for Banaswadi , Everything for my parents was close-by and I took less than half hour to office. It was close to MG road area, just couple of KM to Indiranagar area too. So kinda strategically located to most things. So we decided to start our search around Banaswadi/Kasturi Nagar/HBR or HRBR layout and then spread out our hunt.

The next step on our hunt was the never-ending argument was on Independent House V/S Apartment. I was initially pro-apartment but with many issues we were seeing in our current rented apartment , I was leaning towards an Independent house. The resale value and mainly the independence in making decisions pertaining to the house was a favorable thing for the independent house. On the other hand, as we were seeing with our current apartment, The Apartment had more security and the maintenance guy who was very helpful in household chores. With so many arguments we finally just patched up and agreed to make any decision on need basis and to keep an open mind on both things. I started to keep an eye for the ‘For Sale’ hanging outside any buildings in nice locality.

The biggest roadblock with an independent house was the ‘location’ and bloody high price! Dad saw few houses but they were too interior and the neighborhood wasn’t too. The houses in narrow lane with sometimes no proper parking and if everything is well, The houses fly off our budget. With most apartments the problem was it was on some 4th floor or 5th floor. A few were over priced too. Dad saw so many houses without liking them and I went along to few houses that he was interested in. I couldn’t see myself calling any of these places as ‘Home’.

So this Sunday 18th Dec , Our current apartment’s landlord had come for something. While we were in conversation, He happened to mention that he has a couple of more apartment projects under progress. We expressed our interest and he told that afternoon anytime between 3 and 4.30 would be a good time for us to have a viewing. When I agreed, Dad was surprised that I agreed to move out of the couch. I was more active and happy from a couple of days and I had in fact seen a ‘For Sale’ board in front of an apartment building the very previous day.

So its 3! The guy came and took us for a viewing. I had a mixed feeling about the locations, It was almost kinda right next to the Mukunda Talkies fly over. The road was not too narrow but still the neighborhood didn’t make me too happy. The apartment had 2-bhk and 3-bhk but both had almost same carpet area. I liked only the penthouse but it was on the 4th floor and wasn’t comfortable for my parents. So it was again a disappointment. While we were coming back, I just remembered the ‘For Sale’ board I had seen the previous day. I just mentioned it to my Dad and we thought ‘why not!’ . The building looked very good from the outside.  When we got a chance to see it from inside, it felt home. The location was perfect, The house was spacious, The build quality was perfect, Its on Ground floor/ground level, so perfect, It has ample parking space for 2 cars, Has ample space around for walking and had skating rink and play area for kids. Most importantly, I could see myself living in this place. As ppl say, Home is not a place, It’s a state of mind. I loved this place but kinda expected to be way over our budget. When we talked to the builder the next morning, we were pleasantly surprised. I paid booking advance for this house the very next day.

If everything goes well, I will be signing a house sale deed soon. If that happens, A sequel to this blog titled ‘Home sweet Home‘ should be out soon.

7 Responses to “Home is not a place, It’s a state of mind”

  1. Congrats dude..Was undergoing same kind of feeling which u have narrated before i selected “THE ONE”..
    Parking space for 2 cars that intresting!!!!

  2. shyam prasad Says:

    Congrats buddy, may the new year bring only good things into your life and new house..

  3. @Sunila : Thanks Maga. I will post pics when all formalities are through 🙂
    @Deepak : Thanks , This is in Banaswadi only ; Banaswadi Ayyapa Temple is the closest landmark ; CMR college is on this road only ; a part of this road is Kasturi nagar Main road ; GEt a big picture here : http://tiny.cc/cfx4y
    @Shyama : Thanks dude and Wish you the same

  4. 🙂 When i started to read this, i was hoping that it would end like this! 🙂 congrats on your home, Praj!

  5. Welll, thats really true to have “Home Sweet Home” Kinda feeling after seeing that place. Its really amazing place . Congrats!!!!

  6. The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but you definitely add value. Keep it like this.

Leave a Reply

