2012: Through the looking glass

Here Goes 2012! The most discussed year in the recent history! If you are reading this blog that would mean the world still exists.

The award goes to!

And the award goes to....

And the award goes to….

 I cannot imagine starting this blog with anything other than my wedding. This was and will remain the most important year of my life. The first four months of this year were spent waiting for April 6th to arrive. I got married on Good Friday this year and the rest of the year still feels like a Honeymoon. Deepti is taking a break in her career and so I am getting her full attention 24X7. We have had few arguments but the ship has been steadily sailing barring few turbulent situations. In the last few months we have transformed into a mature couple who understand each other completely at a deeper level. I will keep this aside for a different blog else I will just go on writing pages.

Longest Drive!

This year was the happiest year for my Car(which was in depression last year as per Sethu). The Goa trip in March was a trip to remember and also marked my last trip as a bachelor.

The 1000KM route

The 1000KM route

 The next trip was my Honeymoon trip which spanned over a 1000Km-from B’lore -> Mysore -> Wayanad -> M’lore and back to B’lore. The stay in Mysore was wonderful , the drive through Bandipur was mystically scenic, the stay in Wayanad was serene and the 70foot tree house was not as peaceful as we expected, thanks to the noisy monkeys.

My first year of marriage got me to travel to Mangalore multiple times. Travelling with family invariably meant a lot of temple visits in and around Mangalore and Udupi. I had a long family trip to Goa and Ankola too.The final few months has been spent attending lot of marriages and engagements. The last few months has been marked with some event. The drive to Kerala and Salem was fun. The last trip of the year was attending Rahul’s marriage and it was an excillarating drive. I see this trend to spill over in the next year too.

Glass half Full!

Rahul-Keerthana's wedding

Rahul-Keerthana’s wedding

This year saw many wedding of 114 members. Subbu is the last man standing in 114 now. A supposedly last session of AmBar too commemorated its closure. We can see this as either people decreasing in 114 or we can actually see many more members joining the conceptual 114. Rahul’s wedding did see a huge attendance of couples and this number will only increase in the coming time with few more marriages on the cards. A lot of newly wed couple means a lot of excitement in the air.Deepti and I were discussing that this picture above has 7 couples who are more newly wed than us. In office too 4 out of 5 in my team are recently wed.

Doomsday!!

How can we not talk of the doomsday prophecies  that we reluctantly waited for the inevitable Dec 22. A bombardment of Doomsday news on TV and why do the experts think the world will end. Me and Deepti constantly argued on what would happen. The day has passed and we exist, we live to die another day. All these doomsday conspiracies at-least made us realize that end can come in a variety of ways. We should at-least use each opportunity to celebrate our life in the smallest of moments. All these years we at-least thought that we have time till 2012 , till the conspiracy theorist come up with the next doomsday date, we never know when this will all end.

The year end

The year-end is the time to introspect and kick-start new things so that I start my new year on a high note. I look back into this year and I see I have only published 3 blogs and I want to make it a rule to at least publish one blog every month, beginning next year. I am feeling out of touch writing this blog and feel my creative brain cells fall into endangered species. I have also not read many books this year and feel that I have learnt nothing new on a Technical side too. I am a classic procrastinator making some new year resolutions but I thought I shouldn’t procrastinate on this. To populate my brain cells, I thought the year-end free time was the best time.
In this week, I am writing this blog , I have finished a book and I have finished a tutorial on a new technical topic. I am feeling happy already and I have planned new things already for the coming weeks.

The year ahead:

The new year comes every time with a lot of promises. Every year we keep waiting for excuses to celebrate some day. With Deepti I have doubled the days to celebrate this year. The calendar may be a man-made concept for the sake of records but we always need to end something to start afresh. A fresh year provides us with fresh opportunities, lets celebrate the end of an old year and gear up for the new year. Like I say every year,

Let’s clank our glasses for 2012.

Cheers and Happy New Year!!!

7 Responses to “2012: Through the looking glass”

  1. I remember reading your year end post last year, and honestly, I wondered yesterday, whether you forgot writing one this year. 🙂 obviously, you haven’t..

    Wish you and your family a joyous 2013! enjoy maadi.

  2. Shantala Rao Says:

    I like it how you have timed this blog-post to be posted at exactly 11:59pm on 31DEC2012!! Have a great 2013!

    • prajwalpai Says:

      Thanks 🙂 , I use the ‘schedule’ option to publish the blog at that precise time, Had done same during my wedding too 🙂

  3. Let’s Drink Life to the Lees…………

    The steadily sailing ship,
    Transformation of the newly weds into a mature couple,
    The journey through the year,
    Mystically scenic, serene and the drive exhilarating!
    A lot of excitement in the air….
    A fond hope for the continuation of this trend in the coming years!

    All these doomsday conspiracies,
    Realization, that end can come in a variety of ways.
    Make us wonder anew……
    At the mystery that we all know as “LIFE”
    Each opportunity that visits us …..
    The smallest of moments to be enjoyed!

    The year-end, the time to introspect, to kick-start new things, populating the grey cells,
    And here walks in the fresh year, laden with heady promises,
    Awarding us with opportunities galore!

    A Glass half full!
    Celebrating the happy ending of an old year,
    Gearing up for the new …………
    On a positive note………………..
    Hoping that Love transcends all barriers,
    Let’s join hands to Drink Life to the Lees,
    Savoring every drop to the fullest!!!

  4. I cannot imagine writing a comment with anything other than the good times we’ve had together as a couple, celebrating life..celebrating love…

    The summer of last year marked an end to my bachelorette. Every passing day since then, has been phenomenal and a life filled to the brim…Long drive on star-studded nights with my endless chattering, plenty of visits to the movies, watching sitcoms at home and laughing our guts out in the wee hours, socializing with the gang 114 (Although briefly), exploring the restaurants in the city….eating delicious food & tantalizing our taste buds and lots and lots of travel.
    When you add this all up (Plus the ones you’ve mentioned), you get a sum total of the best moments in life….a year that has been truly magical and it continues to be even to this day. Thank you hubby-dear for everything ❤

    Here's to you and here's to me,
    Here's to love and laughter.
    The year that's old is 2012,
    Let's welcome the year that comes after.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

Leave a Reply

